SANTA CLARA SUN

July 2021 Newsletter

Fireworks Information

As you may be aware, the State of Utah, Bureau of Land Management, National Forest Service, and many other State and Federal agencies have restricted the use of fireworks in all unincorporated areas of the state. Due to the extreme fire danger that exists in the southwestern region of Utah, the Santa Clara – Ivins Fire Chief has signed an order prohibiting fireworks or other ignition sources in designated areas of the city. If you have additional questions about fireworks or restrictions please contact the Santa Clara-Ivins Fire Department at 435-634-5730.
The lighting of fireworks on holidays has become a tradition with many families.  If families act responsibly with legal fireworks activities, they should have an enjoyable holiday.  The vast majority of legal displays occur without incident.  The majority of fire incidents that occur are a result of illegal or improper fireworks discharges.  Be smart, safe, and responsible.
  • Use only fireworks purchased in the State of Utah from licensed dealers or retailers. If you purchased the fireworks out of state, they may not be legal in this state.  You will be cited if found to be in possession of illegal fireworks and will be responsible to pay for damages and extinguishing costs as a result of any fires that you cause.
  • Use fireworks only with responsible adult supervision at all times.
  • Never allow young children to handle fireworks.
  • Light the fireworks in an open area and on a non-combustible surface, such as a driveway or paved area.
  • If windy conditions exist, do not light fireworks.
  • Keep a bucket of water available.
  • Handle used and “dud” fireworks with a shovel.
  • Soak fireworks thoroughly in a bucket of water, or douse them with a hose prior to disposal.
  • Keep clear while lighting fireworks, and do not lean over them at any time.
  • Do not relight “dud” fireworks.
  • Watch out for your pets and animals.  It is preferable to keep them indoors and away from the displays.
  • Check for any restrictions that may apply to your area.

Water Conservation

Washington County is in an extreme drought and we all need to do more to save water, particularly during the hot summer months. Whether you live in an apartment, condo, or single-family home, there are multiple ways you can conserve water. How will you choose to save?

Additional information on conserving water from the Washington County Water Conservancy District: www.wcwcd.org.

Southern Utah Adopt a Waterway

The City of Saint George has created and requested assistance in a new program called “Southern Utah Adopt A Waterway”.  The program is targeting our local water ways with combined effort including citizens, volunteer groups and municipalities. The goal is to enhances our local river system by smaller organized/sponsored clean-up efforts.  It is very similar to the State’s “Adopt a Highway” Program.

Santa Clara City has joined the above program to enhance and beautify the Santa Clara River/Tuacahn Wash areas within our city limits.  We are looking for volunteer groups to adopt a section of river within our City.

For further information on the “Southern Utah Adopt A Waterway” Program: https://www.sgcity.org/adoptawaterway/

Drinking Water Quality Report

Santa Clara CIty is pleased to present you with this year’s Annual Drinking Water Quality Report. This report is designed to inform you about the quality of the water and services we deliver to you every day. Our constant goal is to provide you with a safe and dependable supply of drinking water. To ensure the safety of your water, we routinley monitor for contaminants in your drinking water according to Federal and State laws, rules, and regulations. Except where indicated otherwise, this water quality report is based on the results of monitoring through the period of January 1, 2020 to December 31, 2020. Data obtained before January 1, 2020, and presented in this publication are from the most recent testing done in accordance with the laws, rules, and regulations.

View the full report on our website: Santa Clara City Drinking Water Quality Report

WCWCD Free Water Checks

The Washington County Water Conservancy District offers free water system checks between May15-Sept 30. The water check gives you a customized irrigation schedule, identifies soil type and suggests ways to efficiently water your landscape, often resulting in an average of 30% water savings. The program helps you to have an attractive landscape while conserving water. To request a free water check appointment, call 435-673-3617 or visit https://www.wcwcd.org/conservation/programs/.

Parks & Trails

Santa Clara City wishes to thank the Willows Ward, Las Vegas Lakes Stake form Las Vegas, NV for their service at Graf Park on June 12, 2021. The Ward traveled to Santa Clara for a 3-day Super Activity for their Young Men and Young Women (12-17 years old). During their visit, the leaders wanted to make sure that the youth contributed in some way to the community while we were there having some fun, so Bishop Kier Jones contacted the City to offer their service. The group worked in the new Graf Park east of the Sycamore Bridge on Chapel Street to clear a new trail along the Santa Clara River. The City is thankful for their service and we are happy to resume volunteer projects.

The River Trail still has more work to be done.  If you or your group would like to volunteer for a service project, please contact the City Parks Department bhays@sccity.org or 435-673-6712 extension 221.

Blue Stakes of Utah

Please call Blue Stakes at least 48 hours before you begin any major digging project. This will allow time for all utility companies to be notified to come locate and mark the utility lines on your property before digging begins. Be safe, call Blue Stakes first at 1-800-662-4111.

H.E.A.T. Program

Accepts applications to assist eligible households in need of help paying their home heating bills. This federally funded program is administered by the State of Utah. Payment amounts are based on income, energy use, and at-risk groups in the household. Residents who wish to apply for assistance call 435-652-9643 to schedule an appointment. H.E.A.T. office location: 1664 S Dixie Dr. Unit L-104 St. Geo. UT 84770, in Dixie Commons.

Program Information: https://fivecountyheat.org/

Swiss Days September 23-25, 2021

Santa Clara Swiss Days is scheduled for September 23-25 and we are excited to let you know we are planning for a full schedule of events for the 2021 celebration. You can find event information on the Swiss Days link on the city website at https://sccity.org/swiss-days/. Arts, Crafts, and Food Vendor Applications, and Parade, 5K Run/Walk, and Swiss Miss & Mister applications are now available and open on the website. Sponsor information is posted on the Swiss Days link as well; if you are interested in being a Swiss Days Sponsor, please contact the city at 673-6712 EXT 201. We have many sponsorship opportunities available that would be of value in promoting your business, including options giving exposure to your business for the entire month of September, as well as the weekend of Swiss Days. The ever popular, and unique Swiss Days cows are also available now for purchase at the Town Hall office. Get your cow early to paint and decorate to represent your business or family — the cows can be placed on Santa Clara Drive during the entire month of September. We are looking forward to an extra special Swiss Days event this year and hope you will save the dates and plan to join us once again for this special celebration where history and family fun come together!

Vendor Booth Application: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/vendors/

Swiss Days 5K Online Registration: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/5k/

Sponsor Information: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/sponsor/

Public Meetings 2021

City Council
Regularly scheduled City Council meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall.

Planning Commission
Regularly scheduled Planning Commission meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall.

Technical Review Committee
Regularly scheduled Technical Review Committee meetings are held every Thursday at 8:30 a.m.

City Directory

City Council
Rick Rosenberg Mayor mayor@sccity.org
Jarett Waite Councilman jwaite@sccity.org
Wendell Gubler Councilman wgubler@sccity.org
Ben Shakespeare Councilman bshakespeare@sccity.org
Leina Mathis Councilwoman lmathis@sccity.org
Denny Drake Councilman ddrake@sccity.org
Administration
Brock Jacobsen City Manager bjacobsen@sccity.org
Scott Bannon Assistant City Manager sbannon@sccity.org
Sherry Laier Utilities & Treasurer slaier@sccity.org
Chris Shelley City Recorder cshelley@sccity.org
Ditzie Whitehead Administrative Services dwhitehead@sccity.org
Debbie Bannon Finance dbannon@sccity.org
Building Department
Corey Bundy Building Official cbundy@sccity.org
Selena Nez Permit Technician snez@sccity.org
Fred Fage Building Inspector ffage@sccity.org
Fire Department
Randy Hancey Fire Chief rhancey@sccity.org
Justice Court
Kenneth Armstrong Judge karmstrong@sccity.org
Lisa Bundy Court Clerk lbundy@sccity.org
Misty Brenneman Court Clerk mbrenneman@sccity.org
Parks, Trails & Cemetery
Brad Hays Parks Director bhays@sccity.org
Sherrelle Pontarelli Parks Administration spontarelli@sccity.org
Police Department
Bob Flowers Police Chief bflowers@ivins.com
Rich Rodgers Police Captain rrodgers@ivins.com
Public Works
Dustin Mouritsen Public Works Director dmouritsen@sccity.org
Kristelle Hill Executive Assistant khill@sccity.org
Power 
Gary Hall Power Director ghall@sccity.org