JUNE 2021 NEWSLETTER

Election Information

The Municipal Election will be held on Tuesday, November 2, 2021.  The polls will be open between the hours of 7:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. A Primary Election (if necessary) will be held on Tuesday August 10, 2021.

Vacancies in office to be filled are as follows:
Mayor At-Large                           Four-Year Term
Council member At-Large           Four-Year Term
Council member At-Large           Four-Year Term
For more information regarding the 2021 Election, please visit: https://sccity.org/government/elections/

Ivins Animal Shelter & Adoption Center

Twenty dogs and three cats were chipped at INKAS Low-Cost Microchipping Clinic on May 15th.  The microchips were quickly and painlessly inserted by Santa Clara–Ivins Animal Shelter Director Bailee Mabe with assistance from her staff.  All of the happy pets received a treat and their owners left with peace of mind, knowing that if their pets are ever lost they can more easily be returned to them.  Thank you to Director Mabe for opening up the shelter for this event and to all of the owners who brought their pets.

If you find a lost pet be sure to take it the shelter where they will scan for a chip.  If one is found they will be able to quickly notify the owner so the pet may be returned to its home.

H.E.A.T. Program

Accepts applications to assist eligible households in need of help paying their home heating bills. This federally funded program is administered by the State of Utah. Payment amounts are based on income, energy use, and at-risk groups in the household. Residents who wish to apply for assistance call 435-652-9643 to schedule an appointment. H.E.A.T. office location: 1664 S Dixie Dr. Unit L-104 St. Geo. UT 84770, in Dixie Commons.

Program Information: https://fivecountyheat.org/

June Clean Up Dumpsters

Residential clean up dumpsters will be available June 4-5, 2021. There will be 3 dumpsters at Little League Parking Lot and one at Town Hall west side parking lot. Please do not leave trash on the ground before the dumpsters arrive, when they are full, or after they have been removed. If you have large items that need disposed of like furniture and appliances, please call Republic Services at (435) 628-2821 to schedule a special bulky item pickup. Please remember the dumpsters are not for disposal of hazardous waste or chemicals, pesticides, paint, batteries, tires, or construction site waste.

Swiss Days September 23-25, 2021

Santa Clara Swiss Days is scheduled for September 23-25 and we are excited to let you know we are planning for a full schedule of events for the 2021 celebration. You can find event information on the Swiss Days link on the city website at www.sccity.org. Arts, Crafts, and Food Vendor Applications, and Parade, 5K Run/Walk, and Swiss Miss & Mister applications are now available and open on the website. Sponsor information is posted on the Swiss Days link as well; if you are interested in being a Swiss Days Sponsor, please contact the city at 673-6712 EXT 201. We have many sponsorship opportunities available that would be of value in promoting your business, including options giving exposure to your business for the entire month of September, as well as the weekend of Swiss Days. The ever popular, and unique Swiss Days cows are also available now for purchase at the Town Hall office. Get your cow early to paint and decorate to represent your business or family—the cows can be placed on Santa Clara Drive during the entire month of September. We are looking forward to an extra special Swiss Days event this year and hope you will save the dates and plan to join us once again for this special celebration where history and family fun come together!

Vendor Booth Application: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/vendors/

Swiss Days 5K Online Registration: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/5k/

Sponsor Information: https://sccity.org/swiss-days/sponsor/

WCWCD Free Water Checks

The Washington County Water Conservancy District offers free water system checks between May15-Sept 30. The water check gives you a customized irrigation schedule, identifies soil type and suggests ways to efficiently water your landscape, often resulting in an average of 30% water savings. The program helps you to have an attractive landscape while conserving water. To request a free water check appointment, call 435-673-3617 or visit https://www.wcwcd.org/conservation/programs/.

Santa Clara History Museum

The Santa Clara History Museum in the Townhall basement has now re-opened.

Tuesday – Thursday: 2:00 PM – 5:00 PM

Town Hall Basement

2603 Santa Clara Drive

Santa Clara, Utah 84765

Water Conservation

Southern Utah’s population is increasing, and our water supply is being stretched to the limit! Santa Clara is working to do our part in reducing water consumption. The City Council recently adopted Time-of-Day Watering Parameters. Sprinkler irrigation of all lawns and landscapes using potable (treated) water is prohibited between the hours of 10:00 a.m. and 8:00 p.m. Secondary (untreated or reclaimed wastewater) water systems have limited capacity and are therefore exempt from this ordinance. Facilities irrigated with secondary water systems include public amenities (parks, golf courses, schools, cemeteries) and some residential neighborhoods. Using secondary water for irrigation extends our water resources and saves residents millions of dollars in annual treatment costs.

Additional information on conserving water from the Washington County Water Conservancy District: www.wcwcd.org

2021 Fireworks Information

Due to the extreme fire danger that exists in the southwestern region of Utah, the Santa Clara Fire Chief signed an order prohibiting fireworks or other ignition sources in designated areas of the City.

Fireworks Sales & Discharge Dates

Sales:

Class “C” fireworks can be sold the following dates:

  • June 24 – July 25, 2021
  • December 29 – December 31, 2021
  • 2 days before and on Chinese New Year’s Eve

Discharge:

Between the hours of 11am and 11pm except as noted:

  • July 2 – 5, 2021 – (July 4 hours extended to midnight)
  • July 22 – 25, 2021 – (July 24 hours extended to midnight)
  • December 31, 2021 – (11 am – 1 am January 1, 2021)
  • Chinese New Year’s Eve – February 11, 2021 -(11 am – 1 am the following day)

No fireworks or other ignition sources of any kind are to be used within 200 feet of the following areas:

  • Dry washes and drainages
  • River and stream corridors
  • Hillsides, plateaus, and mesa tops
  • Undeveloped open space or natural terrain

Prohibited activities include:

  • No discharge of fireworks within the areas listed
  • No firecrackers, cherry bombs, roman candles, bottle rockets, single or reloadable mortars, or other Class “C” fireworks not State of Utah approved.
  • Recreational fires, unless the location is approved by the fire department (click here for recreational burning regulations)
  • Welding, cutting, or grinding within the areas listed, unless approved by the fire department.
  • No sky lanterns.

Fireworks or other ignition sources restrictions are in effect, and it is important that you understand which locations throughout the city are restricted and considered dangerous for personal fireworks use.  We hope that you find this webpage useful in identifying these areas.  Local fireworks retailers will also have maps available for you to view.  Your help in keeping our community safe this holiday season is very much appreciated.

Safety Tips

The lighting of fireworks on holidays has become a tradition with many families.  If families act responsibly with legal fireworks activities, they should have an enjoyable holiday.  The vast majority of legal displays occur without incident.  The majority of fire incidents that occur are a result of illegal or improper fireworks discharges.  Be smart, safe, and responsible.

  • Use only fireworks purchased in the State of Utah from licensed dealers or retailers. If you purchased the fireworks out of state, they may not be legal in this state.  You will be cited if found to be in possession of illegal fireworks and will be responsible to pay for damages and extinguishing costs as a result of any fires that you cause.
  • Use fireworks only with responsible adult supervision at all times.
  • Never allow young children to handle fireworks.
  • Light the fireworks in an open area and on a non-combustible surface, such as a driveway or paved area.
  • If windy conditions exist, do not light fireworks.
  • Keep a bucket of water available.
  • Handle used and “dud” fireworks with a shovel.
  • Soak fireworks thoroughly in a bucket of water, or douse them with a hose prior to disposal.
  • Keep clear while lighting fireworks, and do not lean over them at any time.
  • Do not relight “dud” fireworks.
  • Watch out for your pets and animals.  It is preferable to keep them indoors and away from the displays.
  • Check for any restrictions that may apply to your area.

Fireworks are an American tradition.  Safety and common sense are important as we celebrate the holidays with fireworks. Fireworks can provide hours of wholesome family entertainment but must be used carefully and safely.

If you have additional questions about fireworks or restrictions please contact the Santa Clara-Ivins Fire Department at 435-634-5730.

Public Meetings 2021

City Council
Regularly scheduled City Council meetings are held the 2nd and 4th Wednesdays of each month at 5:00 p.m. at City Hall.

Planning Commission
Regularly scheduled Planning Commission meetings are held on the 2nd Thursday of each month at 5:30 p.m. at City Hall.

Technical Review Committee
Regularly scheduled Technical Review Committee meetings are held every Thursday at 8:30 a.m.

City Directory

City Council
Rick Rosenberg Mayor mayor@sccity.org
Jarett Waite Councilman jwaite@sccity.org
Wendell Gubler Councilman wgubler@sccity.org
Ben Shakespeare Councilman bshakespeare@sccity.org
Leina Mathis Councilwoman lmathis@sccity.org
Denny Drake Councilman ddrake@sccity.org
Administration
Brock Jacobsen City Manager bjacobsen@sccity.org
Sherry Laier Utilities & Treasurer slaier@sccity.org
Chris Shelley City Recorder cshelley@sccity.org
Ditzie Whitehead Administrative Services dwhitehead@sccity.org
Debbie Bannon Finance dbannon@sccity.org
Building Department
Corey Bundy Building Official cbundy@sccity.org
Selena Nez Permit Technician snez@sccity.org
Fred Fage Building Inspector ffage@sccity.org
Fire Department
Randy Hancey Fire Chief rhancey@sccity.org
Justice Court
Kenneth Armstrong Judge karmstrong@sccity.org
Lisa Bundy Court Clerk lbundy@sccity.org
Misty Brenneman Court Clerk mbrenneman@sccity.org
Parks, Trails & Cemetery
Brad Hays Parks Director bhays@sccity.org
Sherrelle Pontarelli Parks Administration spontarelli@sccity.org
Police Department
Bob Flowers Police Chief bflowers@ivins.com
Rich Rodgers Police Captain rrodgers@ivins.com
Public Works
Dustin Mouritsen Public Works Director dmouritsen@sccity.org
Kristelle Hill Executive Assistant khill@sccity.org
Power 
Gary Hall Power Director ghall@sccity.org