Santa Clara Justice Court

Citations

When receiving a citation, you must pay the fine or make a court appointment within 14 days of receiving the citation or a Warrant could be issued for your arrest.

Speeding 41-6a-601
Charge Bail Mandatory Appearance
0-10 mph over $120 No
11-15 mph over $150 No
16-20 mph over $200 No
21-25 mph over $270 No
26-30 mph over $370 No
31 or more over $470 + $10/each mile over 31 Yes
Speeding in Construction Zone 41-6a-209
Charge Bail Mandatory Appearance
0-10 mph over $170 No
11-15 mph over $220 No
16-20 mph over $320 No
21-25 mph over $470 No
26-30 mph over $670 No
31 or more over $870 + $20/each mile over 31 Yes
Speeding in a School Zone 41-6a-604

This is an enhanceable offense and will require an enhancement to be signed. If living out of the area, you may find the enhancement on this webpage under “Enhancements.”

First Offense Bail Mandatory Appearance
0-9 mph over $140 Yes
10-19 mph over $240 Yes
20 or more over $440 Yes
Second Offense
0-9 mph over $140 Yes
10-19 mph over $370 Yes
20 or more over $780 Yes
Various Moving Violations

Please be aware there is a $30 Accident Fee if you were cited for causing the accident. If it is noted the offense is enhanceable, you will need to contact the Court.

Charge Bail Statute Mandatory Appearance
Speed too fast $120 41-6a-601(1) No
Driving too slow $120 41-6a-605 No
Fail to Stop $120 41-6a-902 No
Fail to Stop/ Entering Roadway $120 41-6a-907 No

Fix-It Tickets

If repaired within 14 days, bring vehicle to the Santa Clara/Ivins Police Department located at 2603 Santa Clara Drive and have an officer sign off on it, then take signed Citation to the Court and they will dismiss it.

If it’s not completed within the 14 days, the defendant must pay the fine in full or make an appointment to see the Judge.

Small Claims

Small claims actions are governed by the Utah Code and the Rules of Small Claims Procedure. The Rules of Civil Procedure generally do not apply, unless a statute or rule says that they do. If there is a difference between the information on the Utah Courts Small Claims website page (found here) and the statutes and rules, the statutes and rules govern.
Parties:

The party filing the claim is the plaintiff. The party responding to the claim is the defendant.
Limits on Small Claims:

Small claims cases are to recover money, and claims cannot exceed the jurisdictional limit. That limit is set by the Legislature in Utah Code Section 78A-8-102. The defendant must owe the debt to the plaintiff or, on a counter affidavit, vice-versa. Small claims cases cannot be used to sue a government entity, to sue for possession of property, to evict a tenant or to recover an assigned claim.

If the claim does not satisfy these limitations, the plaintiff must file a civil complaint in the district court under the Utah Rules of Civil Procedure.

If you are suing for property damage to a motor vehicle (such as the cost to repair your car), you can sue for bodily injuries in the same small claims action, or you can file a separate action for bodily injuries. Otherwise you have to join all of your claims against the defendant into one action. Utah Code Section 78A-8-102.

If you file an affidavit for property damage to a motor vehicle and a separate complaint for bodily injuries as a regular civil action, the decision in the small claims action is not binding in the complaint for bodily injuries. In other words, one party might win in the claim for property damages and the other party might win in the claim for bodily injuries. If you file separate claims, be sure to include all of the property damages in the claim for property damages because you cannot ask for more property damages in the claim for bodily injuries.

CLICK HERE for more information from the Utah Courts website.

Paying Fines

You may pay fines on our website at the link below, in person at 2603 Santa Clara Drive (during office hours) or by phone at (435) 673-6712 Ext. 202.

Click to pay online.
Payment Methods:

The Court will accept Cash, Money Orders, Credit or Debit Cards

No Personal Checks Accepted.

Court Calendars

The Utah Courts Website has a list of all Justice Court calendars.
Court calendars are updated daily.

Click Here for the Justice Court Calendar
District Court Calendar:

The Utah Courts Website has a list of all District Court calendars. These calendars list all scheduled court activity for a two-week period. Court calendars are updated daily.

Click Here for the District Court Calendar

Court Rules

  • All phones must be put on silence mode prior to entering the Court Room or they can be confiscated.
  • You are required to check-in at the front office when arriving for court appointments.
  • No hats are allowed. Please remove before entering.
  • Appropriate clothing is required.

Enhancements

An Enhance-able Offense is an offense where the penalties could be enhanced if you are convicted of an offence once, and then convicted of it again; such as:

  1. No Proof of Insurance
  2. Possession of Marijuana
  3. DUI – Class B Misdemeanor
  4. Minor Intoxication
  5. Minor Alcohol Violation
  6. Reckless Driving – Not Alcohol Related
  7. Alcohol Related Reckless Driving
  8. Impaired Driving
  9. Text Messaging While Driving
  10. Domestic Violence
  11. Lewdness
  12. Speeding in a School Zone
  13. School Bus Violation
  14. Theft of Services – Utility or Cable TV
  15. Theft
  16. Littering on Public Roads or Highways
  17. Failed to Secure Load
  18. Providing Tobacco to Minors
  19. Spice
  20. Tobacco-Related Offenses
  21. Animal Cruelty
  22. Controlled Substance Offenses

Insurance Violations

Mandatory Appearance – You must make an appointment unless the Defendant had insurance on the date of the violation. Then they must provide a letter of proof to the court, on insurance letterhead, signed and dated.

No Insurance Cards will be accepted.

Expungements

The Utah Expungement Act governs how to expunge records of an arrest or conviction in Utah, regardless of when a person was arrested or convicted.

Expunging a criminal record does not change history; expunging a record means that the court orders the records of the arrest, investigation, detention and conviction in the criminal case sealed. Sealing a record means that the public cannot view or copy the record. Conviction includes a verdict or finding of guilty after trial, a plea of guilty, or a plea of nolo contendere (no contest).

If an agency does not receive the expungement order, they are not required to seal their records. A government agency that has received an expungement order will respond to an inquiry as though that arrest or conviction did not occur. A person who has had records expunged may respond to an inquiry as though that arrest or conviction did not occur. The order to seal records applies only to government agencies. Other records, such as news accounts of an arrest or conviction, are not affected.

After a record is expunged, an agency’s sealed records can still be viewed and copied by some government officials, and the court can order the records unsealed under some conditions.

Although the records being expunged are criminal records, the petition to expunge is a civil case. In proceedings to expunge a record, the defendant in the criminal case is the petitioner in the expungement case.

Click Here for more information on Expungements.

State Bail Schedule

Appendix C: Uniform Fine/Bail Schedule

Click the link for more information.

Court Hours:

Monday - Thursday: 8 am - 5 pm
Friday: 8 am - 1 pm

Court Sessions:
1st and 3rd Tuesday of each month:
9 am - 12 pm

Trials & Pre-trials:
2nd and 4th Monday of each month:
4:30 pm - 7 pm